Peter J. Gomes STB ’68 Memorial Honors

2017 Gomes Honors Award Ceremony

2017 Gomes Honorees

Selected annually by the HDS Alumni/Alumnae Council, the Peter J. Gomes STB ’68 Memorial Honors recognizes distinguished HDS alumni whose excellence in life, work, and service pays homage to the mission and values of Peter J. Gomes STB ’68 and Harvard Divinity School. Gomes Honorees represent the diversity of personal and professional paths that the School's graduates follow.

The 2017 Gomes Honorees are:

  • Rev. Dr. Charles Gilchrist Adams, BD ’64, the preacher and civil rights leader who, as both a student and a faculty member, brought a deeper understanding of the African American religious experience to HDS;
  • Precious Rasheeda Muhammad, MTS ’01, an activist and educator who proposed and organized the first ever Harvard-wide conferences on Islam in America; 
  • Mary E. Hunt, MTS ’74, the feminist theologian and cofounder of the Women’s Alliance for Theology, Ethics, and Ritual (WATER) who was part of the first wave of feminist and liberation theologians to train at HDS;
  • and David Little, ThD ’63—formerly the School’s T.J. Dermot Dunphy Professor of the Practice in Religion, Ethnicity, and International Conflict—who put human rights at the center of religious scholarship.

In addition, the Council is delighted to honor Constance Buchanan, founding director of the Women’s Studies in Religion Program, and the late Buddhist scholar Robert H.L. Slater, the first director of the Center for the Study of World Religions.

Read more


HDS Voices

William A. Graham
William Graham

I envision a place where interfaith and cross-cultural understanding is always on a personal level and comes naturally rather than being an objective. By working on shared problems in the history and practice of religions, shoulder to shoulder with persons of different faiths, cultures, races, ethnicities, and viewpoints, one discovers most tangibly the common humanity shared with others very different from oneself.
—William A. Graham, Harvard University Distinguished Service Professor and Member of the Faculty of Divinity